Question:

If I have a criminal history, such as arrests, citations, charges, or convictions in the past, will I be able to be licensed/certified?

Answer:

If the Board conducts an investigation due to your criminal history, we will send you a questionnaire with instructions to provide the complete police report(s), court record(s), and your written statement(s) of explanation for each time you have been arrested, cited, or charged, including felonies, misdemeanors, or other criminal offenses, whether the incidents resulted in convictions or not.  You will have the opportunity to speak with Board staff at an interview during the investigation, and you may provide information about what you have done to make changes in your life and/or rehabilitate yourself, if applicable.  The Board will review your history after the investigation is complete and decide at that point whether to grant or deny your license or certificate application.

“Felony bar” Cases:

If a person has been convicted of a felony, the person is not eligible to apply for licensure or certification with the Arizona State Board of Nursing until 3 years after the “absolute discharge” of the sentence.  “Absolute discharge from the sentence” means completion of any sentence, including imprisonment, probation, parole, community supervision or any form of court supervision. This also includes payment of all restitution, fines, fees, etc. If the conviction is reduced to a misdemeanor, or set aside, dismissed, etc., the 3-year bar may no longer be applicable, but the Board may still consider the conduct involved, and the person’s application will be considered on a “case by case” basis.

Unless you are currently prevented from applying licensure or certification due to the “felony bar” statute, Board staff cannot tell you whether the Board will grant your application for licensure/certification. Board staff also cannot give you advice about whether to continue your nursing education.  The decision to license or certify an Applicant is made by the Board, only after the investigation is complete.

Arizona State Board of Nursing - Nursing Regulatory Journal
Monday, November 06, 2017
NCSBN NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULEMAKING
Notice Enhanced NLC Proposed Rules And Notice of Public Hearing Summary of Proposed Action Introduction: The Interstate Commission of Nurse Licensure ...
Friday, October 13, 2017
Arizona Clinicians: Register for state's new electronic death registration system
Arizona Department of Health Services has implemented the state’s new electronic death registration system, the Database Application for Vital Events ...
Friday, October 06, 2017
Notice of Public Hearing
The Interstate Commission of Nurse Licensure Compact Administrators (ICNLCA) will hold a hearing on proposed rules via teleconference at 2:00 P.M. (Ce...
Friday, May 12, 2017
Substance Use Disorder in Nursing
As a nursing leader, you have an important responsibility – to keep patients and staff safe while maintaining high standards of care. Educate yourself...

DISCLOSURE STATEMENT

Statement of locations where all notices of the meetings of the Arizona State Board of Nursing will be posted.

Pursuant to A.R.S. §38-431.02(A)(1)(a), the Arizona State Board of Nursing will post all notices of the meetings of the Arizona State Board of Nursing Meetings and any of its committees and subcommittees on the Board's website at www.azbn.gov. Notices will indicate the date, time, and place of the meeting and will include an agenda or information concerning the manner in which the public may obtain an agenda for the meeting.

Top