Application Instructions for RN / LPN Licensure by Examination

To check the status of your application go to License Verification and perform a license verification search by name. Please allow up to 30 days for your application to show up in the license verification system before contacting the Board.

Arizona is a Compact State

If your Primary State of Residency is in another Compact State, you should not apply for licensure in AZ unless you are declaring AZ as your Primary State of Residency.

Requirements

  • U.S. EDUCATED APPLICANTS:
    1. RN applicants hold a Diploma, Associate Degree or Baccalaureate Degree in Nursing from an approved program. LPN applicants hold a Diploma or Certificate from an approved program.
      Visit RN / LPN Exceptions to view a the list of exceptions.
    2. Passing score on NCLEX exam.
    3. Arizona Graduates – Certificate of Completion from an approved nursing program. Download the RN/LPN Certificate of Completion document.
    4. Graduates of out of state schools – Transcripts, including graduation dates and type of degree, sent by your school to Arizona State Board of Nursing.
    5. Board approval for applicants who are under investigation.
  • FOREIGN EDUCATED APPLICANTS; Including Canada and Puerto Rico
    Visit Foreign Educated Requirements for application requirements.

Items to Complete for Licensure

  SUBMIT A PAPER APPLICATION WITH FEE

  • Print a copy of the application from the website
  • Complete the application in black ink and sign
  • Answer all required questions
  • Application must be mailed to the Arizona State Board of Nursing (Not faxed or emailed)

  COMPLETE THE NCLEX REGISTRATION by going to pearsonvue.com/nclex OR by phone 866-496-2539

  REQUEST A CERTIFICATE OF COMPLETION - sent by the program directly to Arizona State Board of Nursing (for AZ graduates only)

  REQUEST OFFICIAL TRANSCRIPTS - Sent by the program directly to Arizona State Board of Nursing (for out-of-state graduates)

  CITIZENSHIP / NATIONALITY / ALIEN STATUS DOCUMENTATION

  • All applicants must submit a copy of documentation regarding citizenship/nationality/alien status. A copy of the document must be submitted on an 8½ x 11 sheet of plain white paper and submitted with the application. For a list of acceptable documents visit the Citizenship & Alien Status page.

  SUBMIT A FINGERPRINT CARD

  • You are required to submit a full set of fingerprints for the purpose of obtaining State and Federal criminal record checks. You are exempt from this if you have submitted a fingerprint card to the Arizona State Board of Nursing within the previous two years.
  • A fingerprint card can be obtained from any local facility that offers fingerprinting services
  • It can take a minimum of 4-5 weeks to receive fingerprint results. You cannot receive permanent licensure until these results are received.
  • Fingerprint Clearance Cards are not acceptable.

Additional Information

Fees & Payment Methods

All fees are in US Dollars and are non-refundable.

  • Application Fee: $300.00.
  • Fingerprint Fee: $50.00 (required, unless submitted within the previous 2 years).
  • Credit/Debit Card - Can only be processed in office. Card information that is mailed to the Board will not be processed.
  • Personal Checks - Must be pre-printed with your name and address. Payable to Arizona State Board of Nursing.

Felony Convictions

The Board shall revoke a nursing license or multistate privileges or deny licensure if the applicant has one or more felony convictions that have not previously been disclosed to the Board and has not received an absolute discharge from the sentences for all felony convictions 3 or more years prior to the date of filing an application. If this law pertains to you, your application will be processed, and proceedings for revocation of your Arizona license or multistate privileges in Arizona or denial of your application shall be instituted by the Board. For more information go to Reporting Criminal Charges.

Reporting of Criminal Charges

Applicants for licensure / certification must notify the Arizona State Board of Nursing of criminal charges within 10 days of being charged. For more information go to Reporting Criminal Charges.

Undesignated Offense

For purposes of the Nursing Board's felony bar statutes, A.R.S Sections 32-1606(B)(17) and 1646(B), the commission of any felony offense on or after July 23, 2010, which results in a conviction of an undesignated offense, shall be treated by the Board as a felony "until such time as the court may actually enter an order designating the offense a misdemeanor" pursuant to A.R.S. Section 13-604(A).

Time Frames for Licensure

The Board is required to process applications for licensure within certain time periods, per R4-19-102 in the Nurse Practice Act.

Candidate Processing Steps

View the Candidate Processing Steps for more information about the steps in the candidate processing steps.

Application Process Steps

View the Application Process Steps for more information about the steps in the application process.

Deficiency Notice

When you submit an application, the Board will send you a deficiency notice identifying any elements of the application process which remain outstanding. If you fail to respond to a deficiency notice within the applicable time period, your application will be withdrawn. After withdrawal, if you are still interested in obtaining licensure you would need to submit a new application and applicable fee.

Arizona State Board of Nursing - Nursing Regulatory Journal
Monday, November 06, 2017
NCSBN NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULEMAKING
Notice Enhanced NLC Proposed Rules And Notice of Public Hearing Summary of Proposed Action Introduction: The Interstate Commission of Nurse Licensure ...
Friday, October 13, 2017
Arizona Clinicians: Register for state's new electronic death registration system
Arizona Department of Health Services has implemented the state’s new electronic death registration system, the Database Application for Vital Events ...
Friday, October 06, 2017
Notice of Public Hearing
The Interstate Commission of Nurse Licensure Compact Administrators (ICNLCA) will hold a hearing on proposed rules via teleconference at 2:00 P.M. (Ce...
Friday, May 12, 2017
Substance Use Disorder in Nursing
As a nursing leader, you have an important responsibility – to keep patients and staff safe while maintaining high standards of care. Educate yourself...

DISCLOSURE STATEMENT

Statement of locations where all notices of the meetings of the Arizona State Board of Nursing will be posted.

Pursuant to A.R.S. §38-431.02(A)(1)(a), the Arizona State Board of Nursing will post all notices of the meetings of the Arizona State Board of Nursing Meetings and any of its committees and subcommittees on the Board's website at www.azbn.gov. Notices will indicate the date, time, and place of the meeting and will include an agenda or information concerning the manner in which the public may obtain an agenda for the meeting.

Top