Nursing Assistant Types: UCNA, CNA & LNA

 Note:  As of July 1, 2016, Arizona offers two types of nursing assistant credentials in Arizona:

  1. Certified Nursing Assistant, designated as “CNA”, or “Registry CNA”, and
  2. Licensed Nursing Assistant, designated as “LNA”

The “NEW” CNA: Although there were CNAs before July 1, 2016, the current CNA, also known as “Registry CNA”, is a new type of credential, effective July 1, 2016. Registry CNAs have fewer requirements for certification and less oversight by the Board. Registry CNA applicants need only meet the minimum federal requirements for CNA certification, and will be issued a certificate after completing an approved CNA program and passing the CNA tests. Registry CNAs are required to practice 8 hours every two years to renew their license/certificate. A criminal background check is NOT required, and certification is free.

The LNA: In contrast, the current LNA has requirements that are almost identical to the “old” CNA. The LNA must complete a criminal background check, has a higher level of oversight by the Board prior to and after issuance of the LNA license. LNAs are required to practice a minimum of 160 hours within the past two years to renew their license.

IMPORTANT - “Undeclared CNAs”: During the transition period from the “old CNA” to the new, “Registry CNA” and LNA, some nursing assistants who hold an “old” CNA certificate, issued prior to July 1, 2016, have not “declared” whether they wish to convert to either an LNA or Registry CNA (individuals cannot hold both credential simultaneously). These “old” CNA certificates are called “Undeclared CNAs”, or “UCNAs”. Upon renewal, holders of the UCNAs will be required to declare If they want to convert to a Registry CNA or LNA. In the meantime, they are treated as LNA-equivalents, because the requirements that were in place for the UCNA certificates at the time they were issued, were equivalent to the current LNA requirements.

**While there are still UCNA credentials that have not been converted to (new) CNA or LNA; the designator “UCNA” will be used in the Board’s license verification system.



Due to recent changes in state law, nursing assistant certification and licensing numbers have changed. For accurate results, search for nursing assistants by name rather than credential number. This way, all credential types held with the Board will be visible. If you wish to search by license/certificate number and the number you are using does not display results, you may need to try searching the different credential types and conduct your search using UCNA, CNA, and LNA preceding the numerical digits.

Arizona State Board of Nursing - Nursing Regulatory Journal
Thursday, April 11, 2019
New Occupational Licensing Law - HB2569
New Occupational Licensing Law - HB2569 You may have heard recent news reports about a new law, signed by the Governor, that eases licensing requireme...
Wednesday, March 27, 2019
Notice to Nurses and Employers for License Renewal
A.R.S. § 32-1642A. Except as provided in section 32-4301, a registered and practical nurse licensee shall renew the license every four years on or bef...
Wednesday, March 13, 2019
48 Hour Emergency Temporary License
Click here for information on the 48 hour emergency temporary process.
Wednesday, March 13, 2019
Online Application and Renewal
Click here for information on applications and completing the renewal process.


Statement of locations where all notices of the meetings of the Arizona State Board of Nursing will be posted.

Pursuant to A.R.S. §38-431.02(A)(1)(a), the Arizona State Board of Nursing will post all notices of the meetings of the Arizona State Board of Nursing Meetings and any of its committees and subcommittees on the Board's website at Notices will indicate the date, time, and place of the meeting and will include an agenda or information concerning the manner in which the public may obtain an agenda for the meeting.