
 

CMA RENEWAL INSTRUCTIONS 
 

 

RENEWAL SCHEDULE:  Certified Medication Assistants (CMAs) are required to renew nursing medication certification every 2 
years by the last day of the birth month.     

RENEWAL REQUIREMENTS: 
 Applicants must have worked, doing medication assistant duties, for a minimum of 160 hours within the past 2 years.   
 Applicants must hold a current certified nursing assistant certificate. 
LATE CERTIFICATION:  If you are renewing after your certification has expired, a lapsed certificate questionnaire must be 
submitted with the renewal application.  The Lapsed/Expired Certificate Questionnaire is included in this packet. 
APPLICATION FEES:  
ALL FEES MUST BE IN US DOLLARS AND ARE NON REFUNDABLE 
 Renewal fee is $65 
 You may pay by credit/debit card (must complete attached two pages for credit card authorization) or money order or check.  All 
 personal checks must be pre-printed with your name and address and made payable to the Arizona State Board of Nursing. 
 There is a $50.00 fee for all checks returned for insufficient funds.  
 Late Fee:  If you have worked as a CMA on an expired certificate, a $10.00 late fee per year you’ve worked will be charged. See 

the Lapsed/Expired Certificate Questionnaire (page 2). A late fee is not needed if you have not worked on an expired CMA 
certificate.  

 If your renewal is late, all fees submitted will be applied to the late fee before they can be applied to the document fee. 
 All mailing address changes are to be submitted to the Board within 30 days. If you are submitting an address change on the 

application and it has been more than 30 days since relocating there will be a $25 address change fee. 
 All renewals that are returned to the Board because of an incorrect address will be fined $25. 
COMPLETING THE APPLICATION:   
Paper applications are scanned. Please print legibly in ink, one character per box. All questions with an ‘*’ must be answered. Faxed 
applications are not acceptable.  If your information does not fit in the space provided, please include an 8 ½ x 11 paper with the 
section # and information that needs to be updated. 
CITIZENSHIP/LAWFUL PRESENCE DOCUMENTATION REQUIRED:  Federal law 8 U.S.C. § 1641 and a state law A.R.S. 
§ 1-501, placed into effect 1/1/2008, require documentation of citizenship/nationality/alien status for certification.  If the 
documentation does not demonstrate that the applicant is a United States citizen, national, or has alien status, the applicant will not be 
eligible for certification in Arizona. All applicants must submit documentation regarding their citizenship/nationality/alien status once 
after that 1/1/2008 date unless submitting a document with an expiration date (excluding US passports). A list of acceptable 
documents can be found at www.azbn.gov/application.aspx by clicking on ‘Statement of Citizenship and Alien Status’ under Other 
Form Downloads. A photocopy of the documentation you submit must be on 8 ½ x 11 paper. 
FELONY CONVICTIONS:  Pursuant to A.R.S. § 32-1646(B), the Board shall revoke a Nursing Assistant Certification if the 
applicant for recertification has one or more felony convictions that have not previously been disclosed to the Board and the applicant 
has not received an absolute discharge from the sentences for all felony convictions five or more years prior to the date of filing an 
application for recertification.  If you have been convicted of a felony since the date you were last recertified, your application will not 
be processed, and proceedings for revocation of your medical assistant certification shall be instituted by the Board. 

REPORTING OF CRIMINAL CHARGES:  Applicants for licensure/certification must notify the Board of criminal charges within 10 
days of being charged.  Further information is available at www.azbn.gov/ReportingCriminalCharges.aspx.   
NAME CHANGE: If you are submitting a name change (Question 2) include a copy of an official document showing previous 
names (i.e. birth certificate, social security card, marriage license, diploma from high school) and a copy of an official document 
showing your new name (i.e. marriage license, divorce decree, driver’s license, social security card). 
TIME FRAMES FOR LICENSURE: The Board is required to process applications for licensure within certain time periods, per 
Rule R4-19-102. Visit www.azbn.gov/NursePracticeAct.aspx and click on Rules for more information.  
 
Please Note: If your application is not complete, the Board will send you a deficiency notice identifying any elements of the 
application process which remain outstanding. For assistance with the application process for licensure, please contact Lisa Youtsey at 
(602)771-7800. If you fail to respond to a deficiency notice within the applicable time period, your application will be withdrawn. 
After withdrawal, if you are still interested in obtaining certification you would need to submit a new application and applicable fee.  

http://www.azbn.gov/application.aspx
http://www.azbn.gov/ReportingCriminalCharges.aspx
http://www.azbn.gov/NursePracticeAct.aspx


* FEE PAID   $ 

ARIZONA STATE BOARD OF NURSING 
Renewal Application for Certified Medication Assistant 

* Applicant’s Full First Name 

* Applicant’s Full Last Name 

* SSN 

Gender Ethnicity Marital Status 

Do you have a new name? Yes - Write in your new name (Documentation is required. See instructions.)

* First Name 

Middle Name 

* Last Name 

* Date of Birth 

* Applicant’s Middle Name 

* Former Last Name(s) 

 
 
 
 
  
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

 
   /   /     
 

C M A            
    
 
 
 
 
 

                               
                               
 
                               
 
                               

 
 

 
  
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

 
 

   -   -       /   /     

                              

                              

                              

For Office Use Only 

 

No 

2.  APPLICATION FOR NAME CHANGE     

Other 

Multi Racial

American Indian/Alaskan 

Hispanic 

White - Not of Hispanic Origin 

Asian/Pacific Islander 

Black - Not of Hispanic Origin 

Male 

Female Never Married 

Married 

Separated 

Divorced 

Widowed 

* 1.  DEMOGRAPHICS     

* CERTIFICATE NUMBER 

* EXPIRATION DATE 

 

* DESIGNATES REQUIRED FIELDS - PRINT CLEARLY IN ALL CAPITAL LETTERS 

CNRA 



 
 

* Is there a change of mailing  
   address? 
 

If yes, address changes are required to be submitted to the Board within 30 days. If it has been more 
than 30 days since you relocated and you have not submitted a change of address to the Board, 
include a $25 address change fee. 

No Yes 
 
 
 
 * 3.  HOME ADDRESS 

 
                               * Street Address Line 1 
 
                               Street Address Line 2 
 

                              * City  
 

Please print e-mail address clearly. E-mail address is used for notification of renewal dates and pertinent Board related information. E-mail address is not 
shared, sold, or otherwise disseminated by the Arizona State Board of Nursing. E-mail address should be kept up to date at www.azbn.gov/myservices. 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

 
 
 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
  
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

       * State/Province * Zip Code 

                              * County (Example: Maricopa) 

                              * Country (Example: USA) 

4.  MAILING ADDRESS   (If different than home address)

                              * Street Address Line 1 

                              Street Address Line 2 

                              * City 

       * State/Province * Zip Code 

                              * County (Example: Maricopa) 

                              * Country (Example: USA) 

* 5.  CONTACT INFORMATION   (Either a home or cell phone number is required) 

(    )    -     * Home Phone Number 

(    )    -     * Cell Phone Number 

                              E-Mail Address 

* 6.  OTHER STATES IN WHICH YOU ARE CURRENTY CERTIFIED (See last page for state abbreviations) 

                             

 CNRB 



Nursing Home Other 

9. FIELD OF EMPLOYMENT 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

                              
 
 

                              

 
                               

 
                               
 
 
 
 
 
  
 

 
 
 
 

       

  /   /       /   /     

                              

(    )    -     

                              

                              

 (    )    -        

List current or most recent employment as a medication assistant.  If 160 hours or more were not practiced in the employment below, add a separate sheet of paper 
listing additional/previous medication assistant employment. All information in the fields below will be required for additional employment on the separate sheet.   
 

 * Total Hours Worked 
at this Employer 

Full Time Part Time 

 * Supervisor’s Phone Number 

 * Supervisor’s Name  

 * Supervisor’s Title  

 

* Employment 

 * Phone Number  

End Date 
Leave Blank if Current

* Zip Code 

* Title 

* Start Date  

* State/Province 

* City 

Street Address Line 2 

* Street Address Line 1 

* Employer Name 

* 8.  MEDICATION ASSISTANT EMPLOYMENT    (Required if option “a” is checked in 

* 7.  PRACTICE REQUIREMENTS 

a) I have performed medication assistant activities for 160 hours or more within the last 24 months (you MUST document employment in 
question 8)  
 

 Yes   No 

Indicate the practice requirement met for certificate renewal. One option must be marked to be eligible for renewal. The practice requirement must have been 
met within the previous 24 months. The two years are calculated from the application received date (for example if the application is received on 3/31/2010, the 
two year time period begins 3/31/2008). If the practice requirement is not met, you are not eligible for renewal. 

CNRC 



 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
  
 
 
 
 
  

Expiration Date, if any  (mm/dd/yyyy)       /    /   

Type of document you are submitting             

Type of document you are submitting (i.e. passport, birth certificate)         Already Submitted 

If yes, submit with your application a legible xeroxed copy of your proof of citizenship document. Most often submitted is a 
photocopy of a birth certificate or US passport. Drivers licenses and social security cards are not accepted. To see a list of other 
accepted documents, visit www.azbn.gov/applications.aspx and click on ‘Statement of Citizenship and Alien Status’.  
If you have already submitted a proof of citizenship/nationality document after 1/1/08 you will not need to submit the document 
again. 

Are you a citizen of the United States? 

To establish alien status, submit with your application a legible xeroxed copy of one of the documents from List B.  

*11.  ALIEN STATUS DECLARATION 

“Qualified Alien” Status 

A.  An alien lawfully admitted for permanent residence under the Immigration and Nationality Act (INA). 

B.  An alien who is granted asylum under Section 208 of the INA. 

C.  A refugee admitted to the United States under Section 207 of the INA. 

D.  An alien paroled into the United States for at least one year under Section 212(d)(5) of the INA. 

E.  An alien whose deportation is being withheld under section 243(h) of the INA. 

F.  An alien granted conditional entry under Section 203(a) (7) of the INA as in effect prior to April1,1980. 

G.  An alien who is a Cuban and Haitian entrant (as defined in section 501(e) of the Refugee Education Assistance Act of 1980). 

H.  An alien who has, or whose child or child’s parent has, been declared a “battered alien” or an alien subjected to extreme  
      cruelty in the United States. 

Nonimmigrant Status  (8 U.S.C § 1621(a) (2)) 

I.  A nonimmigrant under the Immigration and Nationality Act [8 U.S.C § 1101 et seq.] Nonimmigrants are persons who have  
     temporary status for a specific purpose. See 8 U.S.C § 1101(a) (15).

Alien paroled into the United States for less than one year (8 U.S.C § 1621(a) (3)) 

J.  An alien paroled into the United States for less than one year under Section 212(d) (5) of the INA. 

Other Person (8 U.S.C § 1621 (c) (2) (A) and (C)) 

K.  A nonimmigrant whose visa for entry is related to employment in the United States 

L.  A citizen of a freely associated state, if section 141 of the applicable compact of free association approved in Public Law 99- 
      239 or 99-658 (or a successor provision) is in effect [Freely Associated States include the Republic of the Marshall Islands,  
      Republic of Palau and the Federate States of Micronesia, 49 U.S.C § 1901 et seq.];  

M.  A foreign national not physically present in the United States. 

Otherwise Lawfully Present (A.R.S. § 1-501) 

N.  A person not described in categories A-M who is otherwise lawfully present in the United States. PLEASE NOTE: The 

If you are a citizen or national of the United States, go directly to Question 12. If you are not a citizen or national of the United States, complete 
question 11. 

To be completed by applicants who are not citizens or nationals of the United States. Please indicate alien status by checking the 
appropriate box. Submit a legible xeroxed copy of the front and back of a document from List B with your application. See List B on 
our website by visiting www.azbn.gov/applications.aspx and clicking on Statement of Citizenship and Alien Status.  

Expiration Date, if any  (mm/dd/yyyy)       /    /   

      federal Personal Responsibility and Work Opportunity Reconciliation Act may make persons who fall into this    
      category ineligible for licensure. 

No Yes

*10.  CITIZENSHIP OR NATIONAL STATUS DECLARATION 

 CNRD 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 



  *12.  APPLICATION QUESTIONS   (must complete and sign before submitting)  
 i.  Have you, since your certificate was granted or since your last renewal, whichever is later: 

A. Been convicted, entered a plea of guilty, nolo contendere or no contest, been sentenced or served time in jail for any felony or 
undesignated offense? 

B. Had prosecution deferred or probation deferred in any felony or undesignated offense? 
C. Had a felony or undesignated offense pardoned, expunged, dismissed, deferred, reclassified or redesignated? 
 

  No  Yes If yes, provide: 
 A detailed written explanation of the details of each arrest conviction and sentence. 
 Copy of the police report. 
 Copy of court documents for each arrest conviction indicating type of conviction, conviction date, 

and sentence. 
 Documentation showing absolute discharge, including the date of absolute discharge of the sentence 

for each felony or undesignated offense conviction. 
 

 If yes, has this previously been reported to the Arizona Board of Nursing?  No   Yes 
 
ii. Since your last renewal, have you had any drug or alcohol related convictions? 
 

   No  Yes If yes, provide a detailed written explanation of the details of each arrest conviction and sentence. Return the 
written explanation and court documents for each conviction indicating type of conviction, conviction date, 
and sentence. 

  If yes, has this previously been reported to the Arizona Board of Nursing?  No  Yes 
 
iii. Since your last renewal, has disciplinary action or revocation been taken or is there currently a complaint, investigation, or disciplinary action 

pending against your CMA certificate or, any other health care or non health care related license or certification, in any state or territory of the 
United States? (If your nursing license/CMA certificate is under investigation in Arizona only, do not mark yes.) 

 

  No  Yes If yes, include a detailed written explanation and a copy of the documentation regarding the current 
investigation or pending disciplinary action with your application.  

 

 If yes, has this previously been reported to the Arizona Board of Nursing?  No  Yes 
 
PLEASE BE ADVISED THAT FAILURE TO PROVIDE THE REQUESTED DOCUMENTS WILL DELAY THE PROCESSING OF YOUR 
APPLICATION 

*VERIFICATION BY OATH OR AFFIRMATION OR DECLARATION 
The undersigned declares under penalty of perjury under the laws of Arizona, that he/she: 

 Is the person referred to in the foregoing application; 
 That the statements are true in every respect to the best of his/her knowledge; 
 That he/she has not suppressed any information that would affect this application; 
 That he/she will conform to ethical standards of conduct in the profession of nursing and obey the laws and rules of the Arizona Board of 

Nursing; 
 That he/she has read and understands that failure to disclose the requested information or disclosure of false information or disclosure of 

misleading information may constitute fraud and may result in denial of licensure/certification or disciplinary action, up to and including 
revocation, taken against an issued license or certificate 

 Failure to disclose the requested information or disclosure of false or misleading information may also result in criminal prosecution. 
 
 
________________________________________________________________________ ___________________________________ 
  Applicant’s Signature          Date 

PLEASE NOTE:  
It may take up to 2 weeks to process your application. Do not send more than one application as it will not expedite your renewal. Your employer 
may not be able to verify your renewal if you do not submit the application 2-3 weeks before the expiration date. If this application is not 
postmarked by midnight of your expiration date and you have been working on your certificate you will be required to pay an extra fee for late 
renewal. If your application is not completely filled out or if the fee is incorrect, it will be returned to you and further delay the renewal process. 

Please staple all pages of the application together and 
mail to:      ARIZONA STATE BOARD OF NURSING
   4747 N. 7TH STREET, SUITE 200 
   PHOENIX, AZ  85014-3655 

CNRF 
 



 

 
 

 
Doug Ducey Joey Ridenour 
Governor Executive Director 

Arizona State Board of Nursing 
4747 North 7th Street, Suite 200 

Phoenix AZ 85014-3655 
Phone (602) 771-7800 Fax (602) 771-7888 

E-Mail: arizona@azbn.gov 
Home Page: www.azbn.gov 

  

LAPSED/EXPIRED CERTIFICATE QUESTIONNAIRE 
 

Certificate #___________________ Social Security #____________________ Telephone:____________________ 
 
Name:    
 (Last) (First) (Middle) 

 

Former Name(s):  _____________________________ Current Address: ________________________________________ 
 
 _____________________________ ________________________________________ 

 

Did you work as a CMA on your Arizona certificate while your Arizona certificate was lapsed/expired? (Example: If your 
certificate was due for renewal on 10/31/08, did you work after 10/31/08 on that certificate?) 
If your job description requires you to be certified, if you signed your name with CMA after your name, or if you present 
yourself to the public as a CMA in any way at your place of employment, you are working/presenting yourself as a CMA.   

 NO Comments: _______________________________________________________________________________ 

 

 YES If you have worked on a lapsed/expired certificate include a $10 late fee for each year you worked on the 
expired certificate, not to exceed $100.  

  (For example, if your license expired 10/31/10 and you worked as a CMA any time after that date in 2010, 
include a $10 late fee. An additional $10 would be required if you worked as a CMA anytime in 2011, and an 
additional $10 if you worked anytime in 2012, etc.) 

 
 
If YES to any options above, where did you work while your certificate was lapsed/expired? 
 
Employer:   Employer Phone #:    

Address:    

Direct Supervisor’s Name: ___________________________________ Phone:   _______________________ 

Direct Supervisor’s /Title:  ___________________________________________ 

I certify that the above entries made by me are true, complete and correct to the best of my knowledge and belief. 
 
 

  
SIGNATURE DATE 

 

COMPLETE IF YOUR  
CERTIFICATE HAS LAPSED 
OR EXPIRED 



  

CMAs SAVE YOURSELF TIME AND FRUSTRATION… 
Check these areas before returning your application. 

 

 

  All required sections marked with a ‘*’ are completed. 
  Your application is in black ink. 
 You entered name changes:  Complete the second section on page 1 only if you changed your name 
 **If your name changed, please include a “copy” of an official document showing your previous name  (i.e. birth 

certificate, social security card, diploma from school) and a “copy” of an official document showing your new 
name (i.e. marriage license, divorce decree, driver’s license, social security card)** 

 Renewal fee is included – see instructions for fee amount.  
 You have enclosed Invalid/Late Certificate Questionnaire ONLY if submitting your renewal after your certificate 

expiration date. 
 Late fee is included if you have WORKED as a CMA on an expired certificate. (See instructions on lapsed/expired 

 certificate questionnaire). 
 Fee for an address change that you have not reported within 30 days - $25. 
 You signed & enclosed a check pre-printed with your name & address or money order for the correct fees. 
 You answered ALL QUESTIONS. 
 You signed and dated the application. 
 Application must be mailed (NO FAXES). 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

ABBREVIATIONS OF STATES & TERRITORIES 
AL ALABAMA 
AK ALASKA 
AS AM. SAMOA 
AZ ARIZONA 
AR ARKANSAS 
CA CALIFORNIA 
CO COLORADO 
CT CONNECTICUT 
DC WASHINGTON DC 
DE DELAWARE 
FL FLORIDA 
GA GEORGIA 
GU        GUAM 
HI HAWAII 
ID IDAHO 

IL ILLINOIS 
IN INDIANA 
IA IOWA 
KS KANSAS 
KY KENTUCKY 
LA LOUISIANA 
ME MAINE 
MD MARYLAND 
MA MASSACHUSETTS 
MI MICHIGAN 
MN  MINNESOTA 
MO MISSOURI 
MP NO. MARIANA IS. 
MS MISSISSIPPI 

MT MONTANA 
NE NEBRASKA 
NV NEVADA 
NH NEW HAMPSHIRE 
NJ NEW JERSEY 
NM NEW MEXICO 
NY NEW YORK 
NC NO. CAROLINA 
ND NO. DAKOTA 
OH OHIO 
OK OKLAHOMA 
OR OREGON 
PA PENNSYLVANIA 
PR PUERTO RICO 

RI RHODE ISLAND 
SC SO. CAROLINA 
SD SO. DAKOTA 
TN TENNESSEE 
TX TEXAS 
UT UTAH 
VT VERMONT 
VI VIRGIN ISLANDS 
VA VIRGINIA 
WA WASHINGTON 
WV WEST VIRGINIA 
WI WISCONSIN 
WY WYOMING 

 



IF PAYING BY CREDIT/DEBIT CARD PLEASE COMPLETE THIS FORM AND 
ATTACH IT TO THE CREDIT/DEBIT CARD AUTHORIZATION FORM.

A ONE-TIME CHARGE OF $3.00 FOR PROCESSING IS APPLIED TO
ALL PAYMENT CARD TRANSACTIONS

CHECK THE FEES THAT  YOU ARE PAYING FOR.

RN/LPN/SN APPLICATION FEES:

RN/LPN EXAM FEE 300.00$   

RN/LPN RENEWAL FEE 160.00$   

RN/LPN ENDORSEMENT FEE 150.00$   

RN/LPN TEMPORARY LICENSE FEE (Reg or 48 Hr.) 50.00$     

SCHOOL NURSE 75.00$     

SCHOOL NURSE RENEWAL 25.00$     

FINGER PRINT FEE 50.00$     

ADVANCED PRACTICE APPLICATION FEES:

NP/CNM/CNS APPLICATION FEE 150.00$  

NP/CNM PRESCRIBING & DISPENSING FEE 150.00$  

TEMPORARY NP/CNM/CNS FEE 35.00$    

CRNA CERTIFICATION FEE 150.00$  

CRNA TEMPORARY CERTIFICATION FEE (Reg or 48 Hr.) 35.00$    

CNA APPLICATION FEES

CNA EXAM CERTIFICATE FEE (OPTIONAL) 50.00$    

CNA RENEWAL CERTIFICATE FEE (OPTIONAL) 50.00$    

CNA  ENDORSEMENT FEE 50.00$    

OTHER FEES:

DUPLICATE RN/LPN LICENSE FEE 25.00$    

DUPLICATE CNA CERTIFICATE FEE 25.00$    

ADDRESS CHANGE FEE 25.00$     



PLEASE RETURN COMPLETED FORM WITH YOUR APPLICATION

ONLY VISA OR MASTERCARD IS ACCEPTED

PLEASE CLEARLY PRINT ALL INFORMATION EXCEPT WHERE A SIGNATURE IS REQUIRED

NAME OF APPLICANT:
(REQUIRED)

AUTHORIZATION INFORMATION:

TOTAL AUTHORIZED AMOUNT:     + $3.00 =
(TOTAL FROM PAYMENT CARD FEE SCHEDULE Plus S3.00 PROCESSING FEE)

TYPE OF CARD:

VISA MASTERCARD

CARD NUMBER:

(REQUIRED)

EXPIRATION DATE: CVN #

(REQUIRED) (REQUIRED)

BILLING INFORMATION: 

CARD HOLDER NAME:
(REQUIRED)

BILLING/MAILING ADDRESS:

PHONE NUMBER:
(REQUIRED)

EMAIL ADDRESS: 

SIGNATURE OF CARDHOLDER:
(REQUIRED)

CREDIT/DEBIT CARD AUTHORIZATION FORM
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