RNs and LPNs

NOTICE OF DISCIPLINARY ACTION: The policy of the Arizona State Board of Nursing is to publish the names of Registered Nurses and Licensed Practical Nurses who have been disciplined by the board in the newsletter. The public notice is intended to protect the public from unsafe and incompetent practice.

Definitions

  1. REVOCATION: Licensee's privilege to practice either as a practical (LPN) or professional (RN) is revoked for a period of five years. A nurse whose license has been revoked in the State of Arizona may make application to the Board for reinstatement after a period of five (5) years. The applicant must demonstrate that the reason for the revocation has been remediated to reduce the potential of harm and unsafe practice. (§ R4-19-404) 
  2. VOLUNTARY SURRENDER: Accept a voluntary surrender of a license certificate.
  3. SUSPENSION: The period of suspension prevents the licensee from working as a practical (LPN) or professional (RN) nurse for definite or indefinite period of time.
  4. PROBATION: All licensed nurses (LPN or RN) on probation have work conditions and may have other mandated requirements. EMPLOYERS must be presented with a complete copy of the licensee's Probated Order, including findings of fact, conclusions of law, and terms of the order.
  5. DECREE OF CENSURE: This disciplinary action is a public reprimand by the Board of Nursing for a violation of the Nurse Practice Act. It is in the form of a written document and does not impose any conditions on the practical or professional license.
  6. STAYED DISCIPLINARY ACTION: An action which is stayed will not be in effect unless the licensee violates any conditions of an order. For example, a nurse on probation with a stayed suspension is able to work under the stipulations of the probation order. If the nurse violates any condition of the order, the license is immediately suspended.
  7. LICENSE DENIED: An applicant for licensure in Arizona by either examination or endorsement may have their application denied. They will not be granted a license.
  8. CIVIL PENALTY: A monetary penalty of up to $1000 for each violation of the Nurse Practice Act.
  9. IMPOSTORS: Individuals who have represented themselves as nurses, and lack any valid or current nursing license in Arizona.

CNAs

NOTICE OF DISCIPLINARY ACTION: The policy of the Arizona State Board of Nursing is to publish the names of Certified Nursing Assistants who have been disciplined by the board in the newsletter and on the Home Page. The public notice is intended to protect the public from unsafe and incompetent practice. Additionally,the names of Certified Nursing Assistants who have received an OBRA substantiated Complaint from the Arizona Department of Health Services or who have been excluded from work in a Medicare & Medicaid Facility are listed in the newsletter and on the Home Page.

Definitions

  1. CIVIL PENALTY: A monetary penalty of up to $1000 for each violation of the Nurse Practice Act.
  2. REVOCATION: Certificate holder's privilege to practice as a Certified Nursing Assistant (CNA) is revoked. This person cannot work as a CNA in Arizona. This person may apply for reinstatement after the reasons for the revocation have been remediated.
  3. CERTIFICATE DENIED: An applicant for a certificate in Arizona by either testing or reciprocity has been denied certification. A CNA certificate was not issued therefore this person cannot work in Arizona as a CNA.
  4. IMPOSTORS: Individuals who have represented themselves as Certified Nursing Assistants, and are not registered in Arizona.
  5. VOLUNTARY SURRENDER: Accept a voluntary surrender of a certificate.
Arizona State Board of Nursing - Nursing Regulatory Journal
Wednesday, June 22, 2016
Fingerprint Card Policy Change
Our fingerprint card policy has recently changed. If you have not received a fingerprint card from the Arizona State Board of Nursing you may go to an...
Tuesday, June 21, 2016
Consent Agreement and Order Training - Thursday, August 31, 2016
For people who have signed an agreement or who are considering signing an agreement with the Board of Nursing, please attend a Consent Agreement/Order...
Wednesday, April 13, 2016
CDC Releases New Painkiller Prescriptions Guidelines
Guidelines encourage non-opioid therapy as the preferred method of chronic pain treatment to combat growing, national opioid epidemic. Read More
Tuesday, April 05, 2016
Notice to Nursing and Employers - Licensure Renewal
Notice to Nursing and Employers - Licensure Renewal (PDF)

DISCLOSURE STATEMENT

Statement of locations where all notices of the meetings of the Arizona State Board of Nursing will be posted.

Pursuant to A.R.S. §38-431.02(A)(1)(a), the Arizona State Board of Nursing will post all notices of the meetings of the Arizona State Board of Nursing Meetings and any of its committees and subcommittees on the Board's website at www.azbn.gov. Notices will indicate the date, time, and place of the meeting and will include an agenda or information concerning the manner in which the public may obtain an agenda for the meeting.

Top