Licensed Health Aide

LHA Training Programs

Requirements for an LHA program

According to A.A.C. R4-19-901, an LHA program may only be offered by an entity approved by the Arizona Department of Health Services as a medicare-certified home health agency service provider. Per R4-19-902, the entity must also submit an application to the Board and obtain approval from the Board in order to offer LHA training.

Applicable Rules

Please review A.A.C. Title 4, Chapter 19, Article 9 for information regarding the following topics related to LHA Training Programs:

  • R4-19-901 Standards for Licensed Health Aide (LHA) Training Programs;
  • R4-19-902 Initial Approval and Renewal of Approval of LHA Training Programs;
  • R4-19-903 Rescission of Program Approval, Unprofessional Program Conduct, Voluntary Termination.

LHA Training Program - Application Process

For More Information

Please contact [email protected] or AZBN Education Program Administrator Cindy George ([email protected]) for information regarding LHA Programs.

Licensed Health Aide

Requirements to become a Licensed Health Aide (LHA)

An LHA is a licensed individual who is a family member or legal guardian providing services to a single Arizona Long-Term Care System (ALTCS) enrolled patient who is under 21 years of age, consistent with the patient’s plan of care.

 

A “Family Member” is defined in Arizona Administrative Code (A.A.C.) R4-19-101 as a licensed health aide (LHA) who is an adult (at least 18 years old) and has the following relationship with the LHA’s one patient:

  • spouse
  • child/step-child
  • son/daughter-in-law
  • grandchild
  • sibling/step-sibling
  • parent/step-parent/adoptive parent
  • grandparent
  • mother/father-in-law
  • brother/sister-in-law
  • legal guardian

Tasks that an LHA may perform

As provided in Arizona Revised Statutes (A.R.S): A.R.S. 32-1601(14), the LHA tasks may include:

  1. The same tasks as a licensed nursing assistant;
  2. Medication administration,
  3. Tracheostomy care, and
  4. Enteral care and therapy.
 

Frequently Asked Questions

Who can become an LHA?

A Licensed Health Aide (LHA) is a licensed individual who is a parent, guardian or family member providing services to a single Arizona Long-Term Care System (ALTCS) enrolled patient who is under 21 years of age, consistent with the patient’s plan of care.

A “Family Member” is defined in Arizona Administrative Code (A.A.C.) R4-19-101 as a licensed health aide (LHA) who is an adult (at least 18 years old) and has the following relationship with the LHA’s one patient:

  • spouse
  • child/step-child
  • son/daughter-in-law
  • grandchild
  • sibling/step-sibling
  • parent/step-parent/adoptive parent
  • grandparent
  • mother/father-in-law
  • brother/sister-in-law
  • legal guardian
What are the tasks that an LHA may perform?
According to A.R.S. 32-1601(14), an LHA's tasks are the same as a licensed nursing assistant and may also provide medication administration, tracheostomy care and enteral care and therapy, and any other tasks approved by the Board in rule.
I am a home health aide in another state. Can I endorse into Arizona as a licensed health aide?

The Arizona LHA license is not equivalent to an out-of-state home health aide credential. The LHA license is only for a family member or legal guardian of a single juvenile (under 21 years old) patient who is enrolled in the Arizona Long-Term Care System. The LHA license cannot be used for other public employment purposes or for more than one patient. Arizona does not certify home health aides.

Can an LHA complete vent care?

No. Vent care (ventilator care) is not within the tasks of an LHA. The LHA tasks is the same as a licensed nursing assistant and may also include medication administration, tracheostomy care, and enteral care and therapy.

LHA License - Application Process

LHA Applicants

Eligibility to become an LHA

A person who wishes to become an LHA licensee must be a family member or legal guardian of a patient who is under 21 and qualifies for services through an ALTCS Health Plan. REMINDER: An LHA licensee may only provide LHA services to one patient, who is a family member of the LHA.

Legal Definition

According to A.R.S. 32-1601(14), "Licensed health aide" means a person who:

  • (a) Is licensed pursuant to this chapter to provide or to assist in providing nursing-related services authorized pursuant to section 36-2939.
  • (b) Is the parent, guardian or family member of the Arizona long-term care system member receiving services who may provide licensed health aide services only to that member and only consistent with that member's plan of care.
  • (c) Has a scope of practice that is the same as a licensed nursing assistant and may also provide medication administration, tracheostomy care and enteral care and therapy and any other tasks approved by the board in rule.

Application Requirements

Initial application requirements for Licensed Health Aide include passing a Board-approved LHA course and manual skills/written exams, submitting an application and fees to the Board, and verification of patient information and ALTCS enrollment status through the patient’s AHCCCS/ALTCS Health Plan.

 

Please review Title 4, Chapter 19, Article 9 for the following information regarding LHA licensure:

  • R4-19-904 Licensed Health Aide (LHA) Licensure, Renewals, and Patient Safety Referral

LHA Applications

To apply for LHA licensure, please create or log in to your Nurse Portal account and select the appropriate LHA application.

For More Information

Please contact AZBN Customer Service (602-771-7800) for information regarding LHA licensure.

Other Resources