What are the requirements for initial LHA licensure?
  1. Submission of an LHA Initial application via the Nurse Portal
  2. Proof of satisfactory completion of a Board-approved LHA training program within the past 2 years (submitted to the Board by the program upon successful completion)
  3. Proof of satisfactory completion of an LHA competency exam (submitted to the Board by the program upon successful completion)
  4. Proof of United States citizenship or alien status as specified in A.R.S. 41-1080
  5. Proof of relationship to the patient, patient's age, and patient's ALTCS enrollment status (through the ALTCS Verification form)
What are the fees to for initial LHA licensure?

Application Fees

All fees are in U.S. Dollars and are non-refundable. The application fee is $50.00 (plus a required $3.00 convenience fee for the online application).

How can I check on the status of my application?

Your application status can be reviewed by logging into your Nurse Portal account.

How long does the Board have to process my application?

The Board is required to process applications for licensure within certain time periods, per Nurse Practice Act R4-19-102. Applicable statute and section: A.R.S § 32-1606(B)(11); R4-19-809.

Board Overall Time Frame Without Investigation120
Board Overall Time Frame With Investigation270
Board Administrative Completeness Review Time Frame30
Applicant Time to Respond to Deficiency Notice270
Board Substantive Review Time Frame Without Investigation90
Board Substantive Review Time Frame With Investigation240
Applicant Time to Respond to Comprehensive Written Request150
What is a deficiency notice?

When you submit an application, the Board will send you a deficiency notice identifying any elements of the application process which remain outstanding. If you fail to respond to a deficiency notice within the applicable time period, your application will be withdrawn. After withdrawal, if you are still interested in obtaining licensure you would need to submit a new application and applicable fee.

I’ve changed my name, how do I notify the board?

A licensee, applicant or a certified nursing assistant who legally changes names must notify the Board within 30 days of any name change. The applicant shall submit a copy of any official document evidencing the name change.

Name changes and address changes are now made using the Arizona Nurse Portal.

Provide documentation to verify license/certificate holder’s previous name (i.e. birth certificate, a social security card, marriage license, divorce decree, High School diploma) and documentation that verifies the licensee/certificate holder’s current name (i.e. divorce decree, driver’s license, social security card, marriage license).

Will the Board send me a hard copy of my license?

The Arizona State Board of Nursing stopped issuing hard copy licenses and certificates as of September 21, 2018. License or certificate information for LPN/RN/APRN can be verified through Nursys.com and CNA/LNA/CMA can be verified through the License/Certificate Verification Portal.