Application Instructions for RN / LPN Licensure Renewal
We are encouraging all nurses who are due to renew, to renew online through My Services. As you are aware, the State's budget is very limited and the Arizona State Board of Nursing is attempting to do what is necessary to avoid raising the licensure renewal fee.
One way you can assist is to renew online. When you renew online, your license is renewed instantly and you are able to print your own license.
NOTE: Paper applications take an average of 30 days from the time the application is received until the license is issued.
- Nurses previously licensed in Arizona must reapply by renewal, not by endorsement.
- ARIZONA IS A COMPACT STATE. If your Primary State of Residency is in another Compact State do not apply for licensure in Arizona unless you are declaring Arizona as your Primary State of Residency. Primary State of Residency is defined as where you vote, pay taxes and hold a driver’s license.
- To renew online go to My Services.
Renewal applicants must meet one of the following practice requirements:
- Practiced as a nurse for 960 hours or more in the past 5 years OR
- Graduated from a nursing program and obtained a degree within past 5 years OR
- Completed an Arizona Board approved refresher course in the past 5 years OR
- Obtained an advanced nursing degree in the past 5 years (i.e. LPN to RN, RN to BSN, masters, or doctorate).
Items to Complete for License Renewal
√ SUBMIT COMPLETED ONLINE RENEWAL APPLICATION THROUGH MY SERVICES (Visa or MasterCard required) OR
√ SUBMIT REQUEST FOR A PAPER APPLICATION (Instructions below)
Paper applications must be completed for:
- Nurses on Probation
- Nurses Who Are Suspended
- Inactive or Retired Status Nurses
- Nurses submitting volunteer / private duty hours for 960 hour requirement
- Nurses without a social security number
- Nurses who have, since their last renewal:
- Ever been charged, convicted, entered a plea of guilty, nolo contendere or no contest, been sentenced or served time in jail for any felony or undesignated offense? OR
- Ever had prosecution deferred or suspended, entered into a diversion program, or made any other agreement by which a felony or undesignated offense would be dismissed upon completion of certain terms? OR
- Ever had a felony or undesignated offense pardoned, expunged, dismissed, deferred, reclassified or redesignated? OR
- Had more than one misdemeanor charge or conviction in the past four years?
If you meet the above criteria, you must submit a request to the Arizona State Board of Nursing and an application will be emailed to you. To request a paper application, use the Contact Form on our Contact page and select "Applications & Forms" from the Inquiry Reason drop down menu.
√ PAY FEES
Application Fees & Payment Methods
All fees are in US Dollars and are non-refundable
- Renewal fee is $160.00 (Plus a $3.00 convenience fee for online renewal) for a 4-year renewal.
- Obtaining temporary license for a refresher course – No Charge
- Placing license on inactive or retirement status – No Charge
- $50.00 Late Fee per month up to a total fee of $200.00.
Note: If your application is post-dated by the Board on May 2nd or after, and you have worked after May 2nd of the renewal year a late fee is due plus a completed Late / Invalid License Questionnaire.
- Fees may be paid by VISA, MasterCard, check or money order payable to the Arizona State Board of Nursing.
- All Personal Checks must be pre-printed with your name and address or they will be returned. Out of country checks are not be accepted.
- $25.00 fine for renewals returned to the Board because of an incorrect address.
- $50.00 fee for all checks returned for insufficient funds. In addition, non-payment will result in an invalid license.
A licensee, applicant or a certified nursing assistant who legally changes names must notify the Board in writing within 30 days of any name change. The applicant shall submit a copy of any official document evidencing the name change. Do not send original documents.
Must provide documentation to verify license / certificate holder’s previous name (i.e. birth certificate, a social security card, marriage license, divorce decree, High School diploma) and documentation that verifies the license / certificate holder’s current name (i.e. divorce decree, driver’s license, social security card, marriage license).
Inactive or Retired Status
- To apply for Inactive status visit My Services and request Inactive status or download an application for mailing.
- To apply for Retired status, download & submit the Retired Nurse application.
Advanced Practice Nurses
If you are an Advanced Practice Nurse Practitioner / Certified Nurse Midwife / Clinical Nurse Specialist, certification will expire when your RN license expires.
NOTE: Official verification or certification including issue and expiration dates with category / specialty, must be provided directly to the board by the credentialing agency. If available, online verification directly from the agency is acceptable.
Certified Registered Nurse Anesthetist
If you are a CRNA that privilege expires when your RN license expires. The Board must receive official certification/re-certification from the National Board on Certification & Re-certification of Nurse Anesthetists in order for you to renew your CRNA privileges.
NOTE: Arizona State Board of Nursing will obtain online verification directly from the National Board on Certification & Re-certification of Nurse Anesthetists.
Temporary License for Refresher Course
Refresher candidates who do not hold an active Arizona license and are seeking a temporary license must obtain a temporary license "For Refresher Course Only" before attending clinicals. Click here to download the Temporary License for Refresher Course Only packet.
The Board shall revoke a nursing license or multistate privileges or deny licensure if the applicant has one or more felony convictions that have not previously been disclosed to the Board and has not received an absolute discharge from the sentences for all felony convictions five or more years prior to the date of filing an application. If this law pertains to you, your application will be processed, and proceedings for revocation of your Arizona license or multistate privileges in Arizona or denial of your application shall be instituted by the Board. For more information go to Reporting Criminal Charges.
Reporting of Criminal Charges
Applicants for licensure / certification must notify the Arizona State Board of Nursing of criminal charges within 10 days of being charged. For more information go to Reporting Criminal Charges.
For purposes of the Nursing Board's felony bar statutes, A.R.S Sections 32-1606(B)(17) and 1646(B), the commission of any felony offense on or after July 23, 2010, which results in a conviction of an undesignated offense, shall be treated by the Board as a felony "until such time as the court may actually enter an order designating the offense a misdemeanor" pursuant to A.R.S. Section 13-604(A).
Time Frames for Licensure
The Board is required to process applications for licensure within certain time periods, per R4-19-102 in the Nurse Practice Act.
When you submit an application, the Board will send you a deficiency notice identifying any elements of the application process which remain outstanding. If you fail to respond to a deficiency notice within the applicable time period, your application will be withdrawn. After withdrawal, if you are still interested in obtaining licensure you would need to submit a new application and applicable fee.