Application Instructions for RN / LPN Licensure by Endorsement
(Applying for licensure when previously licensed in another state)
- Nurses previously licensed in Arizona must reapply by renewal, not by endorsement.
Arizona is part of the Enhanced Nurse Licensure Compact (eNLC) and no longer part of the Original Nurse Licensure Compact (NLC).
A list of states participating in the Enhanced Nurse Licensure Compact is available at https://www.ncsbn.org/enhanced-nlc-implementation.htm.
An applicant for licensure as a Registered Nurse or Licensed Practical Nurse who meets certain requirements is eligible for multistate licensure. Once the Board grants the multistate license, the nurse can then engage in nursing practice in any of the Enhanced Nurse Licensure Compact states without having to obtain additional licenses.Your application will be reviewed to determine if you meet the criteria for issuance of a multistate license. If you do not meet the criteria for a multistate license but you do meet the criteria for a single state license, a single state license will be issued to you.
Requirements for Multistate Licensure:
1. Meet the requirements for licensure in the state of Arizona
2. Has graduated from a board-approved education program or has graduated from an international education program (approved by the authorized accrediting body in the applicable country and verified by an independent credential review agency
3. Has passed an English proficiency examination (applies to graduates of an international education program not taught in English or if English is not the individual's native language
4. Has passed the NCLEX or predecessor exam
5. Is eligible for or holes an active unencumbered license (i.e., without active discipline)
6. Has submitted fingerprints for state and federal background becks
7. Has no state or federal felony convictions
8. Has no misdemeanor convictions related to the practice of nursing
9. Is not currently a participant in an alternative program
10. Is required to self-disclose current participation in an alternative program
11. Has a valid United States social security number
- U.S. EDUCATED APPLICANTS:
To be eligible for licensure you must:
- Have a passing score on the National Council Licensure Exam (NCLEX) or the State Board Test Pool Exam (SBTPE).
- Have previous or current license in another state or territory.
- Have met one of the following practice requirements:
- Practiced as a nurse for 960 hours or more in the past 5 years or
- Graduated from a nursing program and obtained a degree within past 5 years or
- Completed an Arizona Board approved refresher course in the past 5 years or
- Obtained an advanced nursing degree in the past 5 years (i.e. LPN to RN, RN to BSN, masters, or doctorate).
- RN applicants hold a Diploma, Associate Degree or Baccalaureate Degree in Nursing from an approved program or LPN applicants hold a Diploma or Certificate from an approved program. Visit RN / LPN Exceptions to view a the list of exceptions.
- Have Board approval for applicants under investigation.
Visit Foreign Educated Requirements for application requirements.
Items to Complete for Licensure
v SUBMIT A PAPER APPLICATION WITH FEES:
- Print a copy of the application.
- Complete the application in black ink and sign.
- Answer all required questions.
- Applications must be mailed to Arizona State Board of Nursing (not faxed).
v VERIFICATION OF YOUR ORIGINAL STATE OF LICENSURE
- Go to nursys.com and submit a request for verification.
- If you are unable to request verification at nursys.com, then see the Verification of Your Original State of Licensure section below.
v CITIZENSHIP/LAWFUL PRESENCE DOCUMENTATION
- All applicants must submit a copy of documentation regarding citizenship / nationality / alien status. A copy of the document must be submitted on an 8½ x 11 sheet of plain white paper and submitted with the application For a list of acceptable documents visit the Citizenship & Alien Status page.
- You are required to submit a full set of fingerprints, for the purpose of obtaining State & Federal criminal record checks. You are only exempt from this requirement if you have submitted a fingerprint card to the Arizona State Board of Nursing within the previous two years.
- A fingerprint card can be obtained from any local facility that offers fingerprinting services.
- It can take 4-5 weeks to receive fingerprint results from the FBI. Permanent licensure cannot be issued until these results are received.
- Fingerprint Clearance Cards are not acceptable.
Applicants are eligible for a temporary license if they:
Provide a minimum of 960 practice hours and/or 6 months of nursing employment
Meet educational requirements
Have a passing score on the NLCEX or SBTPE
Do not have a criminal history, a history or disciplinary action by a regulatory agency, a pending complaint before the Board, or affirmative answers to any criminal background or disciplinary question in the application
Does not have any disciplinary eligibility questions for review
Submission of lawful presence or citizenship in the United States with a government issued photo identification
Submission of a fingerprint card
Request for a temporary license
Submission of temporary license fee
- Armed Forces Nurses – Have Military transcripts sent directly to the Board of Nursing.
Applicants applying for a temporary license “for refresher course only”, due to not meeting practice hour requirements, must provide documentation that you have enrolled in an Arizona Board approved refresher course.
Note: Applications for temporary licenses are processed in the order they are received. If you qualify for a temporary license, allow 30 days for processing. The temporary license will be mailed to the address on your application. A temporary license can be held at the Board for pick up if you submit a written request with your application.
Applicants holding a current multistate license from another compact state should not request a temporary license, but can use their compact state license for up to 90 days until an Arizona permanent license is issued.
Meet all requirements making you eligible for a temporary license and:
- You must hand carry to the Board office a completed application, including a completed fingerprint card and applicable fees.
- You have written documentation on employer's letterhead stating a specific hire date starting within 7 days.
- You have NOT mailed in an application to the Board for the same licensure.
All temporary licenses are good for six months. If the results of your fingerprint check show a positive criminal history, an investigation may be initiated and your temporary license will not be extended until the investigation is complete. Investigations may take six months.
Permanent licensure may take one to two months. If you receive a temporary license and have not received a permanent license 10 days before the temporary license is due to expire, contact the Arizona State Board of Nursing at 602-771-7800 to request an extension.
If your original (first) state of licensure was in one of the following states/territories, go to nursys.com and submit a request for verification.
South Carolina (SC)
If your original state of license was in a state/territory other than those listed above, complete the Verification Form and mail (not faxed or emailed) to the state/territory of your original license. Most states / territories require a fee for verification of licensure. Please check with your original state to find out what the appropriate fee is BEFORE sending the verification form. For a list of addresses of state boards, see the last page of the Verification Form. It is your responsibility to request that your original state sends the Arizona State Board of Nursing the verification. A permanent license will not be issued without receipt of the verification form.
Application Fees & Payment Methods
All fees are in US Dollars and are non-refundable
- Application Fee: $150.00
- Fingerprint Fee: $ 50.00
- Temporary License Fee: $ 50.00 (Optional)
- Credit/Debit Card - Can only be processed in office. Card information that is mailed to the Board will not be processed.
- Personal Checks - Must be pre-printed with your name and address. Payable to Arizona State Board of Nursing.
The Board shall revoke a nursing license or multistate privileges or deny licensure if the applicant has one or more felony convictions that have not previously been disclosed to the Board and has not received an absolute discharge from the sentences for all felony convictions 3 or more years prior to the date of filing an application. If this law pertains to you, your application will be processed, and proceedings for revocation of your Arizona license or multistate privileges in Arizona or denial of your application shall be instituted by the Board. For more information go to Reporting Criminal Charges.
Reporting of Criminal Charges
Applicants for licensure / certification must notify the Arizona State Board of Nursing of criminal charges within 10 days of being charged. For more information go to Reporting Criminal Charges.
For purposes of the Nursing Board's felony bar statutes, A.R.S Sections 32-1606(B)(17) and 1646(B), the commission of any felony offense on or after July 23, 2010, which results in a conviction of an undesignated offense, shall be treated by the Board as a felony "until such time as the court may actually enter an order designating the offense a misdemeanor" pursuant to A.R.S. Section 13-604(A).
Time Frames for Licensure
The Board is required to process applications for licensure within certain time periods, per R4-19-102 in the Nurse Practice Act.
Candidate Processing Steps
View the Candidate Processing Steps for more information about the steps in the candidate processing steps.
Application Process Steps
View the Application Process Steps for more information about the steps in the application process.
When you submit an application, the Board will send you a deficiency notice identifying any elements of the application process which remain outstanding. If you fail to respond to a deficiency notice within the applicable time period, your application will be withdrawn. After withdrawal, if you are still interested in obtaining licensure you would need to submit a new application and applicable fee.